top of page

Let the Campaigning Begin


HOPE IN PITTSBURGH: A FUNDRAISING CAMPAIGN

There is a lot to discuss about what "Hope In Pittsburgh" actually is.

This will be the first of many blogs to come on the website. I want to try to answer everything below:

What is this? The purpose of this project includes raising cultural awareness in the city of Pittsburgh due to the population of refugees growing in the area. I will be doing a fundraising campaign for the local non-profit organization called Jewish Family and Children Services. This organization is involved with caring and helping these refugees obtain a new life in this unknown country. I will be raising money for their refugee resettlement programs. These programs involve helping refugees providing basic needs and other acculturations in to the Pittsburgh community and workforce.

What will this campaign include? The campaign will include blogs discussing statistics, videos, articles, interviews, and so much more. All this with the hope to inspire people to donate to the agency so the refugees in Pittsburgh can live a more simple and safe life. This fundraising campaign is not only to raise money but also to focus my time interviewing local agencies that work with refugees, college students, other agencies working with resettlement programs, students that have a passion for other cultures, those in the city of Pittsburgh, and many others.

Why are you doing this? For my senior year undergraduate project I decided to raise cultural awareness in Pittsburgh by fundrasising for the refugee resettlment programs. I have a passion for non-profits and fundraising along with inspiring people about all the diverse cultures this world has to offer. Refugee resettlement is continuing to grow throughout the world and has just shined light on the Pittsburgh area so I hope to shine a more positive light on the issues regarding these refugees.

Where can I donate? The CrowdRise site is where all of the donating will happen (https://www.crowdrise.com/hopeinpittsburgh/fundraiser/laurenmolinaro) but the Hope In Pittsburgh blogging site will have all the blogs and updates along with links to the CrowdRise site (http://laurenmolinaro.wix.com/hopeinpittsburgh) My Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram page will also keep updataes of all of the blogs and the campaign process. I apologize if the posting might get annoying!

Can I help fundrasie? Yes! The CrowdRise site allows me to add Team Members. If you are interested and have a passion for refugees or just want to help spread the word then email me at laurenmolinaro@yahoo.com and I can send you more information to join the team. You are more than welcome to share comments and if you want to share a story or anything then feel free! This is not a place for public abuse towards the refugee population. If you have negative comments then please leave because you are not helping.

How long is this campaign? It officially ends May 1, 2016 If there are any changes then I will be sure to update about any changes. My hope is to have momentum with this campaign that it can go for a longer period of time.

FINAL NOTE: I hope you are still reading this and find interest in the Hope In Pittsburgh campaign. Help me make a difference in the lives of the refugees and make their lives easier as they transition into a new culture. Please do not donate just because you feel bad the goal is not increasing! The purpose of this is to raise cultural awarenss, therefore I want to inspire people to donate. I want to share stories and videos that will make you want to donate. Keep this in mind as you continue to read these blogs.

Let the campaign begin!

There is hope here in Pittsburgh.

bottom of page