top of page

A Pittsburgh Story

This is a story from the Jewish Family and Children Services organization that helps resettle refugees in Pittsburgh. There is hope in Pittsburgh.

Samir AlQass Ishaq lived in Baghdad with his wife and two young boys, working as an electrician in a small shop and volunteering for the Red Cross. His sense of security was shattered after his life was threatened by terrorists who thought Samir was a traitor. They blew up his shop. They tried to kidnap his wife. They promised to kill him. For several months Samir and his family hid out with relatives and eventually fled with his family to Syria where he was not permitted to work because of his refugee status. Samir knew that he could not return to normal life in Baghdad. In August 2010, the U.N. brought Samir to America and in January 2011 his wife, Siba, and two sons followed. Upon arriving in Pittsburgh, JF&CS’s Refugee Services Program provided the AlQass Ishaq family with all of the essentials, including a furnished apartment, food and clothing, and with an ongoing support system – which includes information and referral, benefits enrollment, employment services and more – to ensure their success.Samir now works at a local hotel doing maintenance and repair work. Both boys are enrolled in the Keystone Oaks School District, while Siba takes English classes and looks for part-time work.According to Samir, what they’ve left behind in Iraq is small compared to the freedom they’ve gained by coming to America. “I am rich,” Samir said. “I have my family. I have my freedom. I can go anywhere, and no one will follow me. I will not be killed. My family is safe.”

bottom of page